RSS Feed

Cold Cucumber Mint Soup–What a Cool First Course!

This past spring, Bill and I went on our first cruise ever–to the Bahamas.  Besides being on a cruise ship, other things that we experienced for the first time on that vacation included:

  • A 19 hour trip from Detroit to Miami.  No, we did not drive.  We flew.
  • A Miami bar tab totaling $47.86.  For two mojitos.
  • Sleeping in a room the size of a cigar box.  At least it had a balcony!
  • Huddling inside a covered pavilion at a “resort” that had seen its heyday in the 1960s, while a violent tropical storm raged outside and blasted open several sets of French doors.
  • The extremely fun water park at the gorgeously impressive Atlantis Resort
  • Drambuie liqueur–particularly liked by Bill
  • Salsa dance lessons–not so much liked by Bill
  • Towels folded into animal shapes
  • Chilled soups served as appetizers

Each evening in the ship’s main dining rooms, a different chilled soup was featured.  How summer-y and refreshing!  I tried one every day and was hooked.  Although I cannot remember the exact names, I know that at least one of them was cucumber based.  So, when I plucked the cucumber equivalent of a monster zucchini from our garden, I decided to look online and see if I could find a tasty sounding recipe for a chilled cucumber soup.

The recipe that I chose also contains fresh mint leaves–which we grow–and dry mustard.  Based on some of the reviews, I substituted Dijon mustard for the dry stuff because it’s what I had on hand.  I love that it uses Greek yogurt, so it has a decent amount of protein.  It also called for five cucumbers, but since mine was the size of a 3-year-old child’s arm, I just used the one.   The soup was very pretty and delicious, but Bill and I found that the chopped mint leaf added in at the end created an unappealing texture.  So, I put the leftovers back in the blender and pureed it all together–much better!  I did not add the additional finely diced cucumber either, since I wanted a smooth soup.  (I forgot to snap a picture of it until it was almost gone, which is why the bowl looks barely filled in the photo.)

Here’s the link to the recipe:

COLD CUCUMBER MINT SOUP

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Cold-Cucumber-Mint-Soup-12490

About Grow.Pick.Eat

My husband Bill and I started our first garden in 2006, after tearing down an old rusty shed in our suburban-Detroit backyard. Rather than plant grass in the bare spot that was left, we mixed some organic nutrients into the clay soil, laboriously chopped up the roots of a long-dead tree, and created a garden made up of four beds. We found multi-colored concrete blocks buried randomly around our backyard, so we used those to create footpaths between the beds. Each year since then, we've organically grown a variety of veggies and berries. We've expanded the edible garden to two additional beds: one next to our garage, and one along the side of our house. As we reap our bounty each year, we like to experiment with new recipes that we find or create, and of course, re-make our favorites. We are not experts in gardening or cooking; we are merely teachers with a summertime hobby, and we like to share our stories, recipes and excess zucchini. Take what you'd like from this site, and have fun with it! --Julie

Leave a Reply

