RSS Feed

Ryan’s Favorite Raspberry Jam

Ryan's Favorite Raspberry Jam

Our first attempt at making raspberry jam was last summer, and it was spectacular–if I do say so myself. We filled three jelly jars: one we ate immediately, one went up north to our family’s cabin to share, and one went into the freezer to save for the winter. The flavor was just as fresh and perfect after months in the freezer as it was when it was first made, and the consistency was just right.

My mom likes to tell the story about the jar of jam that I left at the cabin. Apparently, my then six-year-old nephew, Ryan, decided that it paired well with the zucchini bread that I had baked. Although I was not there to witness it, I’m told that Ryan absolutely devoured large quantities of jam on the bread and could have gone through another couple of jars without hesitation. So, this recipe is dedicated to Ryan. I hope to bring another jar of jam up to the cabin for the family to enjoy, and maybe drop off one at Ryan’s house–as long as he’s willing to share with the rest of his family. Zucchini bread’s ready, too! (Recipe to come…)

This year, we sealed the jam in a water bath, rather than freezing it, and had enough berries to fill an extra jar. 2 cups of picked berries is just about 1 cup of crushed berries. The following recipe uses the 2-3-4 method of cooking–which you’ll understand when you read it–and no pectin is needed.

RASPBERRY JAM

http://www.food.com/recipe/raspberry-jam-35192

WATER BATH CANNING

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1jpyXPdCRE&feature=youtu.be

About Grow.Pick.Eat

My husband Bill and I started our first garden in 2006, after tearing down an old rusty shed in our suburban-Detroit backyard. Rather than plant grass in the bare spot that was left, we mixed some organic nutrients into the clay soil, laboriously chopped up the roots of a long-dead tree, and created a garden made up of four beds. We found multi-colored concrete blocks buried randomly around our backyard, so we used those to create footpaths between the beds. Each year since then, we've organically grown a variety of veggies and berries. We've expanded the edible garden to two additional beds: one next to our garage, and one along the side of our house. As we reap our bounty each year, we like to experiment with new recipes that we find or create, and of course, re-make our favorites. We are not experts in gardening or cooking; we are merely teachers with a summertime hobby, and we like to share our stories, recipes and excess zucchini. Take what you'd like from this site, and have fun with it! --Julie

3 responses »

  1. Looks yummy! I made blackberry jam this week, and it’s starting to replace strawberry as my favorite!

    Reply
  2. I think I feel the same way about our raspberry jam. It is just so darn good, and not as runny as strawberry freezer jam. It is very pretty, too! Do you need to use pectin with blackberries?

    Reply
    • Yes, I used some Sure-Jell, and probably should have used a little more. I strained out about a third of the seeds, and that took a lot of the pulp with it, so my berries were a bit thin. I could have added some lemon juice to it so that it would tighten up too, but I didn’t think about it until it was too late. The recipe is good though, and it doesn’t need to be frozen, so that’s a plus.

      Here’s a link to the recipe I used (and am thinking about getting raspberries from Eastern Market on Saturday and trying out some raspberry jam!).

      http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/canning/blackberry-jam/

      Reply

Leave a Reply

