RSS Feed

Zucchini on the Grill

Grilled Zucchini with Feta and Chives

If we manage to rescue a zucchini from the garden when it is a manageable size, rather than letting it grow into an enormous monstrosity, one of our tried and true ways to prepare it is on the grill.  Or, rather, one of Bill’s ways to prepare it is on the grill.

I am not a griller.  Although I am a reformed gas-stove-a-phobe, my uneasy trust of flammable gases and liquids does not extend to barbecues.   I have no problem getting in touch with my primitive side and reigning over a big bonfire–as long as it’s not windy.  I just don’t like lighting things that could potentially explode.  Being first time owners of tiki torches this summer, I gladly let Bill handle the job of setting them ablaze for their backyard debut.  But alas, he wasn’t home last night when I had some girlfriends over, leaving me to face the duties of BBQ-ing, tiki torch lighting and campfire-building.  Chicken Shack kindly took care of the grilling for me, and the campfire gods cooperated and gave me a nice windless night.   As dusk approached, I warily eyed the flimsy torches, which appear to be made of dry kindling and paradoxically filled with flammable citronella fluid.  My desire to have mosquito-free air eventually outweighed my fear of a flash fire, so making sure that the hose was nearby, I managed to appear outwardly calm as I fired up each wick.   Success!

Although I have now conquered fire in two different backyard situations, I am content to let Bill continue on as the grillmaster.  He is good at it, and most importantly, he is not afraid of applying fire to an apparatus attached to a tank of gas.  Here are a couple of easy and fuss-free ways that he has cooked zucchini on the grill.  The Zucchini with Feta and Chives is a recipe I found in  this month’s issue of Women’s Day magazine, where it was shown paired with lemon chicken skewers.   We chose to serve it with burgers.  The Parmesan Zucchini is our go-to zucchini side, and we usually have it several times each summer.

ZUCCHINI WITH FETA AND CHIVES

Slice zucchini in half lengthwise and season with salt and pepper.  Brush with olive oil or spray with cooking spray.  Place pieces on grill for approximately 10 minutes, turning halfway through.  Cut into slices, squeeze some fresh lemon on top and sprinkle with feta cheese and chives.

PARMESAN ZUCCHINI

Slice zucchini into rounds.  Season with salt and pepper and place on a sheet of foil.  Add a bit of parmesan cheese and fresh minced garlic to taste, and drizzle with olive oil.  (Or,  use pats of butter instead of the olive oil, which is Bill’s preference).   Form foil into a packet and place on the grill.  Remove when your meat is done, and sprinkle with more parmesan cheese, if desired.

About Grow.Pick.Eat

My husband Bill and I started our first garden in 2006, after tearing down an old rusty shed in our suburban-Detroit backyard. Rather than plant grass in the bare spot that was left, we mixed some organic nutrients into the clay soil, laboriously chopped up the roots of a long-dead tree, and created a garden made up of four beds. We found multi-colored concrete blocks buried randomly around our backyard, so we used those to create footpaths between the beds. Each year since then, we've organically grown a variety of veggies and berries. We've expanded the edible garden to two additional beds: one next to our garage, and one along the side of our house. As we reap our bounty each year, we like to experiment with new recipes that we find or create, and of course, re-make our favorites. We are not experts in gardening or cooking; we are merely teachers with a summertime hobby, and we like to share our stories, recipes and excess zucchini. Take what you'd like from this site, and have fun with it! --Julie

2 responses »

  1. Hi Julie!

    Good job on your blog! I do all of the grilling at our house too, but I’m a char-coal guy.

    Mike : )

    Reply
  2. Hi Mike! Thanks for reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

